Back to Home

My Right Hand

All inquisitors begin their journey with an initial hesitance. Then the flames continue to spread, and they slowly succumb to their need for the flesh.
Even with that, the One Who Shall Grip never did get used to the fire. He hated it, yet his bloody eyes gazed into the one before him. His right hand settles directly next to him insteead of behind, at his request.
Emil Sinclair The One Who Shall Grip
....
Emil Sinclair The One Who Shall Grip
Basilio...Let me ask you something, if you are willing to entertain.
Basilio N Corp. Großhammer
Anything, Master Sinclair.
Referring to Sinclair as "Master" rather than his actual title was something he wasn't used to, either. Sinclair was not opposed to it, simply because he's aware there's some kind of loyalty that is rooted into Basilio's mind.
Yet he can't help but question why.
Emil Sinclair The One Who Shall Grip
What made you want to join us in the first place? I know there's a reason, it's just...
Emil Sinclair The One Who Shall Grip
Everyone has their own story. I want to hear yours.
Basilio closes his eye, deep in thought. There's a strange lull in the air, and only crackles disturb the silence. Sinclair lets him think about it for a minute, and another.
Basilio N Corp. Großhammer
I was once a doctor in my hometown.
Basilio N Corp. Großhammer
My job went from taking care of the sick to addressing sudden augmentations. Most of my patients were rich.
Basilio N Corp. Großhammer
There was a man who was overly stingy with his money, yet blew it all in a full body replacement. He was angry that I had rejected his request. So, he covered my body in holes.
Basilio N Corp. Großhammer
...Moments before that, the Inquisitors arrived to purge the town of its filth. There was a leader, who saw the punctures all over.
Basilio N Corp. Großhammer
Normally, most would have run away. But that leader did not abandon me. He tore the angered patient with his halberd.
Emil Sinclair The One Who Shall Grip
...And after that?
Basilio N Corp. Großhammer
He told me...that everything will be okay.
Emil Sinclair The One Who Shall Grip
Hah.
Sinclair chuckled, and turned his head towards his right hand.
Emil Sinclair The One Who Shall Grip
I didn't even think about it until now, that you're here because I saved you.
How many people did Sinclair save that later became inquisitors? How many more lives did he need to take if it meant bringing a cause?
Emil Sinclair The One Who Shall Grip
To tell you the truth, that makes me very sad. If I told you to walk into the fire you'd do it, right? Yet...
Emil Sinclair The One Who Shall Grip
If I asked you to find your own path, you would decline.
Basilio N Corp. Großhammer
Yes. Because this is my path.
Basilio N Corp. Großhammer
Forgive me, Master Sinclair.
Emil Sinclair The One Who Shall Grip
No, no. It's fine. It's fine...
That was obviously a lie, and Basilio knew this very well. But there was no reason to ask for punishment even if his story displeased Sinclair. He was completely truthful about his tie to the One Who Shall Grip, and always has been.
Sinclair only wished that this could change. He was tired. Too tired to get him out of this lifestyle. So he rests his head against his Right Hand's shoulder, and sighs.
Emil Sinclair The One Who Shall Grip
At least I'm not alone.
If he could only weep for everyone, for Basilio...he would, in a heartbeat. There was little choice for those feelings in the end.